Reviews

Looking for reviews from my clients? Here are a few.

Happy clients, happy doula!


Recent reviews posted at DoulaMatch.net:

Heidi Duncan, Birth Doula
Expecting New Life Birth Services, Middle Tennessee
July 23, 2015. The day that my world changed forever and my son was born. Leading up to that day there were many questions and doubts that I had about achieving my “perfect birth”. I wanted to have the right birth team to help support the natural and Unmedicated labor and delivery I wanted. When I hired Heidi as my doula I knew that she would play a role in my story but I didn’t know how big of a role. I had been in labor for hours before Heidi actually came to support physically, but she was always a text or phone call away. While I was home she gave me different things to try that would help labor and contractions along, and it made the world of a difference. Eventually, when my contractions picked up Heidi made her way over to my home and we assessed the situation. We headed to the hospital where she there became my voice. My husband was great at supporting with words and touch, but Heidi supported in such a different, much-needed way. She was the gentle voice, the light or heavy touch whenever it was asked for. She helped me stay calm, she applied pressure whenever it was needed. She spoke up when something could be happening differently, I have happy to have someone there who was so knowledgeable about evidence-based birth. She was the perfect kind of support. Once my son was born, I thanked my husband for all of his help and attention, but I the looked over at Heidi and said, “I couldn’t have done this without you”. It’s true, I feel things could have gone completely differently if not for Heidi being present. I will be forever thankful for the birth experience that she helped me achieve and the calming presence that she brought to the experience. I was able to have a birth that I can look back and remember how beautiful it was and be thankful I had her there.
Birth Doula Services
Date published: 12/17/2015
5 stars / 5 stars

Heidi Duncan, Birth Doula
Expecting New Life Birth Services, Middle Tennessee
Hiring Heidi as our doula for our second pregnancy was the best decision my husband and I could have made. She was a wealth of knowledge and information. The resources she provided for us in one on one conversations and a birth class that she led were priceless and gave my husband and I a whole new perspective on labor and delivery preparation. We did not have a doula with our first pregnancy and did a lot of research on our own to prepare. Despite that, we learned way more information this time around once we started working with Heidi. I was honestly amazed at all the great info she gave us because both my husband and I poured over books to prepare on our own. Heidi was a calm, supportive, and strong presence in the hospital and was able to meet needs I didn’t know I had. Her attention and sensitivity to even the tiniest thought I had was so kind and thoughtful and unexpected. For example, I jokingly wondered why there was a mirror directly across from me in a delivery room. I didn’t want to see a reflection of myself at that moment! Heidi went right over and taped some paper over the mirror. On a larger scale, Heidi gave me confidence to be assertive enough not to allow my baby to be taken away during the Golden Hour to be weighed, etc, and that is something I am grateful for, especially after missing out on it with my first born. I felt absolutely taken care of with her there along with my husband and never once felt that his presence was being overshadowed (which was the main fear I had the first time around and why I didn’t hire a doula then). I am so grateful for Heidi and thankful that I was able to hire her. My labor progressed so quickly the second time that I barely made it to the hospital to have my baby. So Heidi was not able to get to the hospital in time for my delivery. That is how amazing she is. We didn’t get her skills at the hospital and I still feel she was a crucial asset to our birth story. Thank you, Heidi!
Birth Doula Services
Date published: 11/29/2015
5 stars / 5 stars

Heidi Duncan, Birth Doula
Expecting New Life Birth Services, Middle Tennessee
Having Heidi as our doula was one of the best decisions we made as soon-to-be new parents. My husband and I were looking for someone to help make the birth of our first child a beautiful, calm experience. We knew exactly what we wanted and Heidi made it possible. We had two meetings with Heidi before the birth to go over our birth plan. She provided us with a ton of resources to back up our choices for our birth. She was also available at any time if we had any questions throughout my pregnancy. Our son didn’t come into the world exactly as planned. We had a few bumps in the road. Heidi was right by our sides, even as things changed as labor progressed. She gave us all the information we needed to make informed decisions and kept us focused on the light at the end of the tunnel, our precious baby boy. I know my husband also appreciated having Heidi there once labor started. Any time he felt uneasy or had questions, he could turn to Heidi for answers and insight. We couldn’t have asked for a better doula to help bring our son into the world than Heidi. She was such a blessing and we couldn’t thank her enough.
Birth Doula Services
Date published: 11/21/2015
5 stars / 5 stars

Heidi Duncan, Birth Doula
Expecting New Life Birth Services, Middle Tennessee
The first time I met Heidi I was in labor and 7cm dilated. She greeted me warmly and showed up ready to support me in any way. I immediately felt comfortable around her and trusted her completely. At the hospital, I was met with resistance from the on-call physician and hospital staff due to attempting a vaginal delivery after two cesareans. She was able to keep me calm and reminded me to focus on my body and my baby, despite the opposition around me. She talked me through each contraction with encouragement and recommended changing positions when she saw me struggle. She supported my husband and gave him suggestions for helping to manage my pain. Heidi stayed by my side through the entire labor and showed amazing intuition by knowing exactly what I needed and when. At one point, an unexpected fear came over me- a memory from a previous attempted VBAC- she intuitively picked up on this and helped me to work through it. She encouraged me that this was a different labor and my body was made to deliver my baby. My beautiful baby girl was delivered vaginally and unmedicated, she came out pink and screaming. I am confident that I could not have had such a positive birth experience without Heidi. She made such a difference in my mood and focus. She has a gift with laboring women and I am thankful that she was there during such an important event in our lives.
Birth Doula Services
Date published: 11/18/2015
5 stars / 5 stars

Heidi Duncan, Birth Doula
Expecting New Life Birth Services, Middle Tennessee
Heidi was hands down the best part of my home birth! Heidi checked up on me regularly the last weeks of my pregnancy and the day that I was in labor. She came over immediately when I texted her. I didn’t have a doula with my first baby, but I would never birth without one again! She was really invaluable. Heidi helped me work through contractions, gave me wonderful advice on how to make the most of my contractions and stay comfortable, and most importantly she advocated for me when I needed it most! She was a solid, cool and collected, and just immeasurably knowledgeable part of my birth experience! Also, I know Heidi is a very devout person, and my family is not so much. She asked if that was something that I wanted in my birth and when I declined she was very respectful. I have a deep, deep respect for her professionalism.
Birth Doula Services
Date published: 11/17/2015
5 stars / 5 stars

Heidi Duncan, Birth Doula
Expecting New Life Birth Services, Middle Tennessee
Our deepest gratitude is felt for our doula, Heidi Duncan, who we affectionately refer to as our Guardian of Birth. Heidi’s enduring wisdom, guidance, and compassion before, during, and after Oliver’s birth allowed us to welcome Oliver from womb to world in a loving, confident, safe, and healthy way. We would recommend Heidi in a heartbeat to folks seeking a doula as part of their birth team.
Birth Doula Services
Date published: 04/10/2015
5 stars / 5 stars

MORE REVIEWS OF DOULA SERVICES, CHILDBIRTH CLASSES, AND PRENATAL HENNA…

I went through 2 types of birth trauma, 1 medicated and 1 natural birth, before I met Heidi. I was pregnant with my 3rd and bound and determined to have a much better experience. After asking around, Heidi’s name was highly recommended so we set up an interview. My husband and I told her our story and concerns. She was extremely compassionate about what had happened to us. After the meeting, we just knew she was it and we did not interview any other doula. Heidi made me feel that if I gave birth medicated or not, she was not going to judge me in my decisions but guide me in the right direction if a problem arose. When I felt scared and lacked confidence that I could do this naturally, she was there for me to voice my concerns. Thankfully, when it was time to get to the hospital, she was there to hold my hand, encourage me, and to keep my husband calm. She has a voice of an angel and we had an amazing, fast, unmedicated birth that was absolutely a dream. It was a very healing experience for all of us!

Lacey Mount Juliet, TN Vanderbilt August 21, 2015

I was pregnant with my 4th child when I sought out Heidi’s services. I had used an epidural with my other children and I was determined to have a natural birth with the last. Upon meeting Heidi, I was immediately comfortable with her. I felt as if we were old friends. She was very easy to talk to. Unfortunately, my labor was very quick and I was not able to use all of the skills and techniques that Heidi had taught me, but when she arrived she was able to calm me down and talk me through my pushing. I had finally had my natural birth! I don’t think I would have been able to get through it without her.
Read more

Crystal Clarksville, TN Blanchfield August 21, 2015

My sister-in-law is a doula so thankfully I was very well educated about my birth options. The moment I found out I was pregnant I immediately attended a meet the doula event and scheduled an interview with Heidi. Her level of experience was the immediate draw as well as her easy going personality. I attended her roots childbirth class. Heidi was very flexible with my husband and I’s schedule. The day I went into labor, there was no level of education that prepared me for what I was about to go through. I truly do believe if I had not had Heidi I would not have ended up with the non- medicated birth I wanted. She was a wonderful advocate, motivator and coach to help me get through it. The nurses at Northcrest stated how wonderful Heidi was to work with. She helped get my husband involved to his comfort level and for that I am truly grateful! I will absolutely recommend Heidi to a first time mom or a 5th-time mom!

Tara Clarksville, TN NorthCrest August 21, 2015

default image

I must admit that I was reticent of hiring a doula at first. I had the not uncommon desire to want to do it all and be it all (as it relates to support) for my wife throughout the labor process. However, it didn't take long for me to realize the huge value our doula Heidi Duncan had. There was simply no way that I could have done everything on my own that we were able to accomplish together for my wife. Heidi was humble, knowledgeable, encouraging, patient (comes in handy in the middle of the night), and worked wonderfully with the medical staff at our hospital. The latter is very important because if you are planning on having your baby at a hospital, it really helps to have a doula that can get along and work with the doctors and nurses who do not always have gleaming opinions of them. I would recommend Heidi to anyone and our OB doctor said the same thing.

Trevor Nashville, TN Baptist / St. Thomas Midtown August 10, 2015

Heidi was an amazing partner in our birth experience. We could not have asked for a more supportive doula for which to share our experience with. She provided hands-on pain relief and care when I needed it most, and emotional support throughout the long labor and after. She also was very supportive of my husband who was very interested in being hands-on throughout the birth experience. She was truly instrumental in the successful story of the birth of our firstborn daughter. We can't thank her enough!

Sarah M. Nashville, TN Baptist / St. Thomas Midtown August 10, 2015

I recommend Heidi to all expecting mothers. She was a true gift during my labor and delivery. She was able to work around our schedules and took all the time necessary so we felt prepared in our prenatal education sessions. During labor, she provided support to both my husband and I throughout the entire process. She assisted me physically, helping me be as comfortable as possible. She assisted me emotionally, helping me stay in the moment, relax my muscles, and stay calm through the harder parts of labor. Heidi was invaluable in helping us understand what was going on with my body throughout labor and in making sure I understood the things the hospital staff was telling me. We are very grateful that Heidi attended our natural birth. We're not sure how we would have done it without her support. The birth of our daughter was an amazing, positive experience, and we thank her for contributing so strongly to making sure it was a positive, non-frightening experience for us.

Meredith & Jared New Orleans, LA Lakeside Tulane August 10, 2015

Heidi & baby Zoe

Throughout the whole process, Heidi's presence was a comfort to both Holly and myself. She was very aware of what Holly was going through and made very good efforts to help Holly not only deal with the pains of the contractions but to also help progress the labor. I know that if we did not have Heidi there that Holly would have ended up with an epidural to deal with the pain, and that she would have been in labor for much longer than she was. Our short time in the hospital for the labor was, for the majority of the time, a lot of fun, which was facilitated greatly by Heidi and the pain management techniques she had to offer. Heidi's presence there was also a great comfort for me because we had someone there with us the whole time to help encourage us and generally help guide us thru the delivery process. I know that if Holly and I have another baby, we hope that Heidi will be available to help us again.

Kyle & Holly New Orleans, LA Touro August 10, 2015

My wife and I felt very strongly about a natural and drug-free birth for our first child. We saw all of the benefits of this choice but also recognized that it meant harder work and more discomfort for my wife. I felt very inadequate and unqualified to be able to truly support my wife the way she would need. When we made the choice to hire Heidi Duncan as a doula, it was a huge relief to me and felt like a burden was removed. I had a lot of concerns about being my wife's primary support system and knowing that Heidi would be there with us made me feel so much better. Heidi's presence at our son's birth was just what we needed. She was able to take care of my wife's physical needs allowing me to be by my wife's side to hold her hand, capture the experience on camera and be an emotional support to her. I wouldn't have changed a thing about our experience and I would hire her again in a heartbeat, even if we knew she would only be with us for an hour.

Jeff Clarksville, TN Vanderbilt August 10, 2015

default image

I had the labor experience that I never would have thought possible for myself. From the start of my first contraction to my final push, my son was born in just under 5 hours. Everything happened so fast that Heidi wasn't able to come to our house; we had to meet her at the hospital. She was there waiting for us when we arrived and in that final hour of labor, she was a tremendous help. Heidi knew just what to do, what areas to massage/apply pressure and she had the right words of encouragement at just the right times. Even though I'd imagined hours upon hours of labor with Heidi by my side, I would have done it all over again just to know that she would be there for that short hour. I highly recommend Heidi as a doula. What an amazing and special time giving birth is and to have a trained and certified professional there, totally dedicated to supporting you and your goals, can make your experience that much more positive.

Lindsey Clarksville, TN Vanderbilt August 10, 2015

default image

My son is nearly 5 months old, and I still struggle to find words to express my gratitude. There is no doubt Heidi was called into this profession. She rushed to Ryan and me in the middle of the night and didn't leave us for 19 hours! She didn't sit down, eat or leave my side. She was truly a gift from God. As first-time parents, Heidi's presence, confidence, and knowledge allowed my husband and me the opportunity to focus on labor and not worry about anything else. Heidi is invaluable!

Lauren Nashville, TN Vanderbilt August 10, 2015

Heidi played a huge, pivotal role in my natural VBAC! She was an angel sent to us -- my husband will attest to the fact that we could not have done it without her. She told my husband everything to do and without them both, it would not have been the same outcome. She not only assisted me with positioning during contractions, she put pressure on my back for pain relief, but also used aromatherapy, assessed my needs periodically, advocated for me, and provided ongoing encouragement and relentless support. Even after the baby was born and my husband was attending to the baby while I had my lacerations repaired; Heidi was there holding my hand talking me through everything that had happened and was happening. She reassured me everything was ok and my baby was ok. It takes a special person to do what she does and she is darn good at it. We are so very thankful for Heidi Duncan!

Kristin Nashville, TN Vanderbilt August 10, 2015

Thank you so much, Heidi, for being a part of our birth experience! Jeffrey and I definitely could not have done it without you!!!! You provided me with so much information and support during my pregnancy and were such an asset during the birth of our son!

Kasey & Jeffrey New Orleans, LA Touro August 10, 2015

default image

Heidi was super at the birth of our son in December 2007!

Stasia & Andrew New Orleans, LA East Jefferson August 10, 2015

I only have the one picture of Heidi at the birth of our child since Scarlet decided to race into the world. Heidi was a fundamental part of my being able to mentally participate in the birth of my baby girl since Scarlet was doing everything on her own! I am deeply grateful and appreciative that she was there to help us wrap our heads around what was happening so fast and am so happy to be able to say that the birth of my first child was everything I dreamed it would be!

Chelsey A. New Orleans, LA Kenner Regional August 10, 2015

default image

Heidi was extraordinary. She was there the entire 20+ hours without stopping for a break. We are so very thankful that we found her. Heidi is a true blessing! Thanks so much!!

Shelly & Andrew New Orleans, LA Lakeside Tulane August 10, 2015

default image

Thanks to Heidi, I was able to have a positive and wonderful birth experience. We wanted to have a "natural" birth experience and this was only achieved by having Heidi's support throughout my labor. When the doctors wanted to start "intervening", Heidi was able to help us negotiate a way to proceed without intervention. Sophie was born in the amniotic sack and given 10/10 for her APGAR scores (the RN had never given that score before) - both of these feats were achieved because she was delivered naturally.

Prudence & Thomas New Orleans, LA Ochsner Jefferson August 10, 2015

Heidi gave me information several months ago while I was searching for VBAC-friendly providers. At the time, I was told that the midwives in my area were not available for me because this would be my second VBAC. I was very discouraged, but I was persistent. I hired a doctor Heidi recommended, who, after careful consideration, decided that he had no problem with me continuing my prenatal care and birth with the midwives. I've met with both of them, and I think everyone is happy. Thank you, Heidi, for answering my questions about providers when you did. I don't know that things would have worked out this way if you hadn't. Keep doing what you are doing--it really makes a difference. Education is empowerment.

Kaytee New Orleans, LA Birth Planning Consultation August 10, 2015

default image

Heidi was great! I definitely needed a doula a) for emotional support and b) for physical support. Heidi helped me from our very first meeting realize that I was doing the right thing for myself and for my baby (with the exception of my fiance, I did not have much support). Once we were in the actual hospital, Heidi was a lifesaver. I needed someone there to be confident when Kevin or I got nervous. That was Heidi. She was the rock when we did not know what the heck we were doing. I know if I ever have another baby, I will call her again.

Leslie & Kevin New Orleans, LA West Jefferson August 10, 2015

default image

My first child was born c-section and I was not at all happy about that. I dealt with a lot of emotional turmoil over the unwanted turn of events. When I started exploring my options for a VBAC for my second child's delivery Heidi consulted with me. Though I did not employ her services, the advice and counsel she gave me that day tremendously helped me to sort out my emotional issues, guided me to the right doctor, and greatly boosted my confidence in the decision I was making. If I were to have a doula it would be her, hands down! I did have a successful VBAC and am ever so grateful for Heidi's gracious guidance and support.

Jessica L. New Orleans, LA Birth Planning Consultation August 10, 2015

default image

Heidi did a belly henna for me in January of 2013. I couldn't have been more pleased. We had a great time talking and sharing our experiences while she worked. Heidi is a great champion of Mother and Baby centered birth in our area. Her leadership has enabled hundreds of women to support one another through an amazing chapter in their lives by creating a sense of community through various outreach initiatives such as social media and group meet-ups. Very few women do the thorough research that Heidi does so she can support her clients with the most up to date evidence-based information. I couldn't recommend Heidi more highly as a doula, childbirth educator, henna artist, etc, etc. She is a very knowledgeable, wise woman and we are lucky to have such a wonderful childbirth professional available to us!

Kristyn Clarksville, TN Home henna session August 10, 2015

Heidi was a back-up to the doula I hired (who had been with me for my first labor). The doula was with another mother already when I went into labor, so Heidi came to save the day. She met us at the hospital and stayed with us until after the birth of the baby. I was able to labor for much longer unmedicated because of the calming influence and great work that she did. I would recommend her services to anyone!

Kristi Nashville, TN Vanderbilt August 10, 2015

Heidi was great. We're a military family and found out that my husband was deploying about a week before we found out we were expecting and he was supposed to leave a month before our baby was due. I knew I wanted a doula along side me if my husband couldn't be there. We both got to meet with Heidi before he left and we both felt very comfortable with her. I really wanted a VBAC. I think that was where Heidi helped me most. I was nervous about having the VBAC but Heidi helped point me in the direction of resources about VBACs that not only helped me and my husband feel more comfortable with a VBAC, but I felt a lot more confident and prepared going into my prenatal appointments knowing what my rights were. The really great thing about Heidi is that she really respects and honors the client's decisions. I wanted the VBAC but I was nervous, she pointed me in the direction of non-biased, research-based information and was there to help me get my facts straight but I am sure she would have supported me no matter what I ended up deciding was best for me and my family. I got my successful VBAC and a lot of that was due to the fact that my mind was at ease about the birth.

Jen B. Fort Campbell, KY Blanchfield August 10, 2015

Heidi taught my husband and me a private childbirth education class. The Alpha class was Christ-focused and just what we were looking for in the birth of our daughter. She spent so much time answering each of our questions and walking us through the material. When the day came for Eliana to be born, we couldn't be more thankful to have had the scripturally based education on childbirth. It was a wonderful experience and I am so thankful to have brought my daughter into the world the way I learned through this class. And on top of that Heidi got me integrated into a community of moms and birth professionals who could help me with my every question as a first-time mom! The Lord has definitely called Heidi to the profession she is in! Thanks, Heidi!

Leandra & Chris Clarksville, TN Homebirth / Alpha Class August 10, 2015

Heidi Duncan was my doula for two of my three births, and I cannot say enough good things about her.  My first birth was via C-section, and it was a very traumatic experience for me.  When I became pregnant with my second daughter, I knew I wanted to have the support of a doula.  From our first meeting, I knew Heidi had the experience and calming presence I needed.  She helped me work through the emotional recovery I needed to prepare for the second birth, and her wealth of knowledge was invaluable.  Her support during what ended up being a very fast delivery was awesome.  I had a successful and unmedicated VBAC.   With my third pregnancy, I knew I wanted Heidi’s support once again.  This time the labor was even faster, and I ended up delivering in L&D triage, which was not the most comfortable birthing environment, to say the least.  Heidi’s support helped me work through a very intense labor, and I am happy to say I was able to have another unmedicated VBAC.  I have recommended Heidi to friends and strangers, and would not hesitate to do so again in the future.

Melissa P. East Nashville, TN Vanderbilt July 28, 2015

Dear Heidi,

Thank you so much for your support before, during and after Chas’s birth. Choosing you as our doula was one of the best decisions we made to ensure that we had a positive birth experience. You were incredible and I won’t have another baby without you!

You arrived at the hospital so quickly after Donny called and told you that things were moving a lot faster than expected. I remember being so relieved when you walked into the labor and delivery room. I felt like it would all be okay. Things were moving fast, but our support team was in falling into place.

You helped to settle Donny and me into the process, and you were obviously poised and experienced. Your confidence in the labor and delivery room was indispensable. You helped to orchestrate all of the players and you served to be my ‘voice’ when I really couldn’t communicate effectively. I would have felt so isolated without you there telling everyone what I couldn’t.

Finally, thank you for the brilliant counting technique you used during the contractions. Having you count to 20 and then back down again helped me to know that the end of that contraction was coming. It provided me with something else to focus on beyond the pain.

As we talked about after Chas was born, I am so grateful for your decision to serve women and families in this way. You are excellent at what you do and Donny, Chas and I are so glad that you were able to support us through this process.

We will call you again in a year or two when Baby #2 is on the way!

With Gratitude,

Courtney, Donny and Chas

Courtney & Donny New Orleans, LA Touro July 28, 2015

default image

I made the mistake of not hiring a doula for my first birth, and the second time around I knew I was going to have one. I researched and contacted everyone in my area, and I felt the most comfortable with Heidi Duncan. She met me at a local coffee house and we talked for over an hour about my previous birth, my feelings and expectations. She was responsive and available to me throughout the rest of my pregnancy. She made my husband feel much more at ease. She provided me with a lot of great information and articles to prepare for the upcoming birth.
At Vanderbilt University Hospital, I delivered with the midwives, and Heidi worked very well with them. My husband and I both liked having her on our team. The birth (obviously) was very emotional for my husband and me, so it was nice to have a professional there strictly for me, on MY side, who did not work for the hospital, and who would stay with me the whole time while the midwives and nurses bustled around and went in and out of the room. It's nice to have that steady support. I would ask Heidi to be my doula again if we were having another child. I felt I could really trust her. She's kind, knowledgeable, easy going, and seems to really love what she does. My husband felt he clicked with her best, and he was on board about getting a doula after meeting Heidi.

Cristen Nashville, TN Vanderbilt July 28, 2015

default image

Heidi is a wonderful woman with true gifts of gentility and compassion. Her experience and advice during labor was indispensable, and she gave us tips that immediately provided comfort and confidence as I progressed. Heidi was attentive to our family's schedule and needs during my pregnancy, and my birth experience was amazing with her guidance, support and prayers. I continue to recommend this special lady to expectant mothers!

Sarah T. Fort Campbell, KY Blanchfield July 17, 2015

I love the God-focused mindset that Roots promotes. Pregnancy and labor are designed by God not doctors. This was my third pregnancy and I was determined to have a natural labor. This class really instilled the faith I needed to let my baby come on his own.

Jenia B. Clarksville, TN Roots group session July 17, 2015

default image

The Roots Class gave me education and confidence and strengthened my passion to have a natural birth. It also allowed me to make educated decisions during my labor when complications arose. Having Christ at the center of my labor and delivery helped me focus on the end goal and know my body WOULD work how it was supposed to even when others were telling me it wouldn't. It was the best money we spent in preparation for our baby.

Katie L. Woodlawn, TN Roots private class July 17, 2015

default image

We hired Heidi for the birth of our second child and took the Roots Childbirth class as part of our package. I learned so much and really feel like the class made a huge difference in my birth experience! I would definitely recommend this class!

Anna N. Nashville, TN Roots private class July 17, 2015

Heidi is fantastic and gave us a great evidence based and Christian birth class!

Sonia G. Joelton, TN Roots group session July 17, 2015

Heidi was our doula and bc of her and the Roots curriculum we had a fantastic natural birth with no complications!!!! We saved thousands of dollars from having harmful unnecessary interventions plus the time and emotional/physical expense that comes with them. The individual classes were fun and out of 5 friends who had babies at the same time as me (I was the only one with Roots), I was the only one to give birth naturally! At the end of the day, you want a healthy mother and baby and this program helps you achieve that. You don't want to risk not being a Roots mother believe me I've seen some very sad outcomes from those who've trusted the doctors only!!

Bonnie L. Portland, TN Facebook Review July 17, 2015

I cannot recommend Heidi enough! The best decision we made was to have her be a part of the birth of our beautiful daughter. She is extremely attentive and was available to me and my husband before, during, and after the birth of our baby. She has a lot of experience, which as first-time parents was crucial and important in our decision making. Heidi was nothing short of amazing before, during, and after labor. Without her my birth experience wouldn't have been as wonderful as it was.

Isamar B. Cane Ridge, TN Vanderbilt July 17, 2015

Heidi was my doula for my first pregnancy. She was a life saver for me and my husband. I ended up with HELLP syndrome and she not only provided hands-on comfort for me during this critical time, she also provided my husband with vital information on the diagnosis to help him to better understand what the doctors were throwing at us. We are forever grateful for her wisdom and compassion.

Kasey B. New Orleans, LA July 17, 2015

Pregnant mom with henna belly tattoo

Heidi did henna on my pregnant belly and it was a great experience. Very relaxing and memorable. She was great at taking my inspiration pieces and creating a one-of-a-kind design. It was beautiful! Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Molly C. July 17, 2015

Heidi is a Jane of all Trades! She did a beautiful belly henna for me earlier this year. (Her first one ever!) She is very knowledgeable about all things pregnancy & birth related. I give her my highest recommendation as a doula, childbirth educator, henna artist, etc.

Kristyn C. July 17, 2015

You supported us through bringing both of our babies into this world, and I will say it again: You are worth your weight in gold, and probably more, seeing as how petite you are 😉 We could never express our gratitude to you for being there for our family when we needed your expertise and experience the most, but in an honest attempt.... THANK YOU SO MUCH, HEIDI!!!
XOXOXO,
The Paulson Family

Kendra P. July 17, 2015

Heidi was awesome! I will recommend her to all of my friends! Labor with my first child included an epidural and forceps so we hired Heidi for our second. My second childbirth experience was so much better and all natural! She is worth every penny and more!!

Anna N. Nashville, TN Vanderbilt July 17, 2015

First I want to say Thank You to Heidi, for taking the time to train and gain the knowledge necessary to become a true professional Doula providing birth services. Even though my little one, Emma-Grace is 5 months now, I haven't forgotten how wonderful it was to have Heidi with my husband and I while we labored for 30 hrs until Emma made her entrance into this world. What I recall most is Heidi's quiet confidence... she knows her stuff and I can attest to that. I'm 36 yrs old a "mature mom" by OB standards, also Emma is our third child, my boys were both born by c-section. In hindsight, they were both unnecessary sections, so I knew I didn't want that to be my experience the third time around. Heidi answered all my questions and gave my husband and I the confidence we needed to make the decision to try for a VBA2C. We did it! I know that the progression of labor and delivery would not have happened like they did, if Heidi had not been by our sides. That being said with 30 hrs of labor we had some complications...but each time the nurses or doctors threw something at us, We huddled up, prayed it up and my husband and I were able to make decisions based off of the knowledge Heidi provided to us! If you are considering a VBAC or just would like the comfort and confidence that comes from having a doula present at the birth of your little one, Heidi Duncan is your Doula!

Stephanie S. Woodlawn, TN Vanderbilt July 17, 2015

Heidi was wonderful to have at the birthing of my second son. It was good to have someone there to help my husband and I make decisions on things when the time came for that. She was by my side from start to finish, which was over 24 hours! We were all exhausted. If I was going to ever have another baby I wouldn't do it without her! She knows her stuff! Thanks, Heidi!!! 🙂

Penny M. Ashland City, TN Vanderbilt July 17, 2015

Heidi was my doula for the birth of my first child! She was amazing! I took the Alpha birth classes with her prior to labor and she made me feel educated and well prepared. During labor she was very supportive and extremely skilled at making labor as smooth as possible. With her help I was able to fulfill my goal of having my baby all natural! He was a healthy 9.7 lbs and 23 inches!! Without Heidi I would have never been educated enough to desire a natural birth! If you are considering a doula she is fantastic and you will be so happy you had her assistance for your big day!

Brooke S. Clarksville, TN Blanchfield July 17, 2015

Heidi was a true blessing during my third pregnancy and labor! My husband couldn't understand why I wanted a doula, especially because I had already have had two babies. Even I wasn't sure if I really needed one. I know now that I would have never had the birth experience that I wanted without her. She was constantly reassuring me that my precious baby would come at his perfect time. It was a truly spiritual experience through the entire pregnancy thanks to her class and guidance. You will not regret hiring Heidi!

Jenia B. Clarksville, TN Vanderbilt July 17, 2015

Heidi was truly amazing as our Doula! Hiring her was one of the best decisions I made during my pregnancy. I was nervous with all the details and wanted a natural birth. It was anything but natural when my little man decided to wait! I was induced 8 days after my due date and my induction was 45 hours. (The photo is from 1.5 cm into the process.) As the labor progressed, all the things we had planned to do and use during the labor were taken away (birth tub, intermittent monitoring, walking around, etc.). But with Heidi there we were able to make informed decisions about the whole process. It also helped because in a 45-hour induction in the hospital, Heidi and my son's father were able to both get some much-needed sleep in by taking shifts. Her meetings filled us with knowledge but it was her presence there that made what could have been the worst experience of my life a successful vaginal birth. She helped me emotionally and spiritually from the first moment they started the induction to the very end. I was so scared I would have a c-section. Her knowledge helped us understand what was happening and our options, like when she helped me make a decision to use pain meds when I could go no further. Also, she did an amazing job helping me get in positions to turn the baby's head when it was tilted the wrong way and they wanted to do a C-section. She also helped with unique ways for me to push during my 3 hours of pushing. I went into the induction with the doctor telling me I had more than a 50% chance of having a c-section and I really credit Heidi with helping us avoid that. And she took notes the whole time so I could have a record of my labor. In the end, even my son's father, who was skeptical of doulas, starting recommending doulas to all our expecting friends. Heidi was the rock we needed. She was a vital part of our labor team! 

Justine D. New Orleans, LA Ochsner Jefferson July 17, 2015

Heidi was amazing!!! Our little man decided to arrive 9 weeks early and came out at rocket speed. Heidi dropped everything and headed down to Nashville as soon as we told her he was on his way. She worked with the major change in plans like a champ and helped to keep me focused on getting him out in the most positive way possible given the unique situation. It was amazing to have someone there just for me as my husband was busy dealing with DR's and notifying family for our little man's early arrival. She was a MAJOR support system for us before during and after his birth. I am proud to give her my highest recommendation. The work she does is priceless to me!!!

Erica D. Nashville, TN Vanderbilt July 17, 2015

We took Heidi's Roots Childbirth class and it was AMAZING! Also, being able to talk to Heidi before and after the birth of our baby was wonderful. It was so great to have a knowledgeable individual to speak with about birth. She was always willing to answer our questions even after the class was over. She is so awesome and I'd recommend her to anyone who is pregnant!

Katie L. Woodlawn, TN Private Roots class July 17, 2015

Uh-mazing woman here!! My 3rd birth and my first with a doula. She kept me sane and kept the nurses at bay while I welcomed my new baby. An amazing source of knowledge and experience... and she also has a sincerity of care that you won't find in a hospital setting!

Joanna V. Clarksville, TN Gateway July 17, 2015

Heidi was amazing in the training and classes she gave my husband and me before the birth of our daughter. She made sure we knew what our options were and had us educated. All of it was more than needed. Even though I had a really fast labor and delivery, she was there and was extremely supportive. She is sweet, and calming, and listens to what your wants and needs are. I highly recommend Heidi to anyone... first-time mom or not.

Jenni S. Clarksville, TN Blanchfield July 17, 2015

Heidi henna'd my very pregnant belly and did an incredible job! She was so detailed, took her time to make sure it was just right and added so much to the atmosphere while friends looked on. The finished product was stunning! I'd highly recommend her!

Katie G. Murfreesboro, TN Mother Blessing Henna Session July 17, 2015

default image

Heidi was the best choice I made for my first baby. She empowered my husband and I with knowledge and helped us make good choices for a better birth experience. Having her with me made me feel so much better during labor. Her words, her touch, and her essential oils made all the difference! Having her is worth every penny spent! I highly recommend her for your birth experience.

Bonnie L. Portland, TN TriStar Hendersonville July 17, 2015

default image

Heidi is wonderful! She is passionate about what she does and was a great support to my husband and I. Her passion shows through the amount of time and energy she spends compiling and providing resources for her clients. My husband learned so much from our discussions with her and the Roots Childbirth classes that she taught. He was able to provide great support for me as I labored at home. Although we barely made it to the hospital in time, Heidi wasn't too far behind. It made such a difference when she arrived and I heard her voice. I was beginning to get tense and hold my breath while pushing, and her reminder of "just breathe it out" made all the difference. I immediately relaxed. After the birth, she stayed a while to help us get settled and provide continued support. She's the best and I highly recommend her!

Jessica S. Ashland City, TN Vanderbilt July 17, 2015

Heidi was invaluable to achieving what I wanted in birth and being the womanly support I needed on top of my husband's loving help. I would highly recommend her for her experience, down to earth persona, and enthusiasm!

Kelley M. Clarksville, TN Vanderbilt July 17, 2015

The Roots curriculum went beyond teaching me what to physically do to prepare for labor and birth. It nourished my soul and encouraged me to trust in God's perfect plan. I was able to labor naturally, without fear, because of the confidence and faith that I gained through Roots.

Jessica S. Ashland City, TN Roots group class July 15, 2015

NEXT STEPS…